The History Of Nigeria

Nigeria was created in 1914 as an amalgamation of protectorates and ruled by eight british Governor Generals; from Sir F.J.D Lugard to sir G.N. Robertson in 1960. Nigeria became self-Government in 1954, through regional primiers. In 1957, Alhaji (Sir) Abubaka Tafawa Belewa was sworn in as Nigerias first prime minister. He was followed by Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe in 1960, who became the first president of the federal Republic of Nigeria on Tuesday 1st October 1960, which is celebrated as National day.

Nigeria has an area of 923,768,0080 square Kilometers and between latitude 4 and and 14 North of the equator and longitude 3 and 15 North of the greenwich meridian. Nigeria is within the tropical zone. She is bounded on the east by the federal Republic of Cameroun, on the west by Republic of Benin, on the North by Republic of Niger and on the south, Nigeria is bathered by the Atlantic ocean. On the North-East border is Lake Chad which is also extended to the republic of Niger and Chad and touches the Northern most part of the Federal Republic of Cameroun. She (Nigeria) is often referred to as “The giant of Africa”.
The major river in Nigeria are the Niger and Benue. The point where the two rivers meet is known as CONFLUENCE of the rivers and it’s at Lokoja in Kogi state.
Nigeria was derived from the Niger which is the name of the river that constitues the most remarkable geographical features of the country and was given by Mrs Flora Shaw in 1898. She later married Sir. Lord Lugard; the first Governor general of Nigeria.

Nigeria has domestic Airports in every major cities and four (4) International airports, linked to every corners of the world. Nigeria has vast mineral resources which include solid minerials like tin, coal, Iron-ore, lead zinc and Iranium.

In Nigeria, Agriculture employs about 70% of the work force. The cheif crops grown in the North includes Sorgum, millet, soyabeans, peanuts and cotton. Those in the south and south south includes corn, rice palm produces, cocoa, cashewnuts and rubber. Livestock rearing, forestry and fishing are also important commercial activities.

Nigeria, in the world politics today, has taken a perculiar position as the most black populous country that has experienced militry rule for 20 non-consecutive years under federalism.

The inhabitants of Nigeria are divided into about 250 ethnic groups; but are classified into three which are Igbo, Yoruba and Housa. The official language of Nigeria is English, but there are other indigenous languages which are widely spoken.

The Nigerian coat of arms is an emblem which represents authority and power;and is also the unity of the country. The Black shield represents the good soil of Nigeria; The Eagle stands for the strenght; The horse represents dignity and pride while the “Y” represents the two rivers (Niger and Benue) which flows through parts of the country. Lastly, the flowers stands for Nigeria’s unity and faith, peace and progress incribed at the bottom of the coat is the country’s motto.

Leave a Reply