Edo Assembly Speaker Suspends Shaibu’s Loyalist, 2 Other Lawmakers

Three Lawmakers have been suspended by the Edo State House of Assembly Speaker, Blessing Agbebaku on Monday over purported plan to impeach him and other prominent members of the Assembly.

As loyalists of the impeached deputy governor, Philip Shaibu, one of the suspended lawmakers, Donald Okogbe, PDP, Akoko-Edo II, was the only one that didn’t sign the petition which resulted in Shaibu’s impeachment.

The two others are Addeh Emankhu Isibor, APC, Esan North-East I, and Iyamu Bright, PDP, Orhionnwon II.

Agbebaku also accused the trio of bringing native doctors to the House on May 1 at around 1am to perform the sacrifice.

Agbebaku said the three lawmakers were suspended indefinitely, alleging that external forces were influencing them to cause chaos and remove the house’s leadership.

The suspension of the lawmakers, however, created tension in the House as the affected lawmakers kicked against their suspension.

In a rowdy session, the three suspended lawmakers were seen screaming, “Mr Speaker, you do not have the right to unilaterally suspend any member(s) of the house.

“You must call for votes. Allow members vote on the matter.”

The Speaker, thereafter, adjourned the plenary abruptly.

Leave a Reply