Top Ten Best Polytechnics In Nigeria

  • Top Ten Best Polytechnics In Nigeria

  • There are quite a number of good polytechnics in Nigeria
  • There are several polytechnics in Nigeria, both private and public, which offers quality education to the ever increasing youth population of our dear country that is why we have decided to write about the top 10 best polytechnics in Nigeria. Do read along.
    In Nigeria today, polytechnics are being sought after these days due to the fact that students have come to understand that quality education can be gotten there as opposed to the earlier notion that universities are a do or not die.

    The Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) interestingly receives millions of applications each year for admission into polytechnics these days because no youth wants to sit at home while their colleagues are gaining admission into schools and making academic progress in the process.
    There are quite a number of good polytechnics in Nigeria. At least each State in Nigeria has one Polytechnic to its name. If you’re having a hard time deciding on which Polytechnic to apply to and you’re looking for top polytechnics in the country, then, this post should come in handy. In the following paragraphs, we have given a detailed list of best polytechnics in Nigeria in 2017.

    1. Auchi Polytechnic

    This citadel of learning is situated in Edo state, Nigeria. Auchi polytechnic has produced many top Nigerian scientists, and the school has is a winner of several national competitions. Auchi Poly won the Polytechnic Expo in 2008, and in 2012 it came first in the best designs and fabrications. It was also awarded at the Minna exhibition for its crafts and woodworks.
    The polytechnic was established in 1963 by the Edo State Government and in 1994, it was taken over by the Federal Government of Nigeria. Auchi Poly is regarded as the best polytechnic in Nigeria. It has seven schools which houses several departments.

    2. Yaba College of Technology

    Yaba College of Technology is situated in Yaba, Lagos State. It is popularly known as YABATECH and it was established in 1947.
    YABATECH is a special school. Apart from National Diplomas (ND) and Higher National Diplomas (HND), it offers B.Sc (Ed) courses in Technical and Vocational Education and Post Graduates Diploma in Engineering. The two programmes are run in conjunction with the University of Nigeria, Nsukka and the Federal University of Technology, Akure. You can also opt for a part-time study if you won’t be chanced to be a full-time student.
    The majority of YABATECH lecturers are leading professors in different fields. Students go through the required training and graduate as well-rounded individuals armed with the necessary skills to make a it in their chosen fields.

    3. Federal Polytechnic, Nekede

    The Federal Polytechnic, Nekede is located in Nekede town, close to Ihiagwa, Imo state. It was established in 1978 as a College of Technology before it became a Federal Polytechnic in 1993. The school is touted to have outstanding lecturers who mould young individuals into bright personalities.
    The polytechnic consists of a School of Engineering Technology, School of Environmental design and Technology, School of Humanities and Social Sciences, School of Industrial and Applied Sciences, and School of Business Management Technology
    The school places a great premium on innovative research and hands-on techniques. It offers National Diploma and Higher National Diploma courses at undergraduate levels.

    4. The Polytechnic, Ibadan

    The Polytechnic, Ibadan is also known as POLYIBADAN. The main campus of this school is located just beside the University of Ibadan, UI. Both tertiary institutions actually share a common gate. POLYIBADAN had four other satellite campuses and they now stand on their own, having evolved into standalone polytechnics.
    The polytechnic was originally created in 1970 as a successor to the Technical College, Ibadan. Since 1975 it has been operating on a faculty system.

    5. Lagos State Polytechnic
    Lagos State Polytechnic is also known as LASPOTECH. It is owned by the Lagos State Government and it is situated in Ikeja, the Lagos State Capital. LASPOTECH has several schools to study at and they include Agriculture, Engineering, Management and Business Studies, Pure and Applied Sciences, etc.

    6. Osun State Polytechnic

    The Osun state polytechnic was second to Auchi polytechnic in the past but has lost that position now. Nevertheless, it is still rated high amongst others.
    The institution is located in Iree, and was formerly a satellite campus of the polytechnic, Ibadan. It became an autonomous institution on the 12th of October 1992. It also has a daily part time program which it runs at its Koko campus.
    The polytechnic has seven faculties which contains several departments from which one can choose a desired course of study- Information and Communication, Engineering, Financial Studies, Environmental Studies, Management Studies, Basic Sciences, and Sciences.

    7. Federal Polytechnic, Ilaro

    This polytechnic has modern infrastructures which support students’ academic progress. It also has a modern library and a students’ office where students can find answers to questions regarding their academic lives. It is situated in Ilaro, Ogun State.

    8. Imo State Polytechnic, Umuagwo

    The Imo state polytechnic was established in 1978 as Michael Okpara College of Agriculture. However, in 2007, it was elevated to the status of Polytechnic. It is located in Umuagwo, Ohaji/Egbema LGA, Imo State.
    The polytechnic provides courses, training and research in all branches of Agriculture, Management Sciences, Engineering and Food Sciences. It is also certified to award National Diploma and Higher National Diploma certificates to its graduates.
    It has a flexible academic schedule and students who can’t study full-time can opt to go to classes during the weekends.

    9. Federal Polytechnic, Oko

    The federal polytechnic Oko has a rich academic atmosphere which is exciting and exhilarating at the same time. It was approved by the Anambra State Government as a College of Arts and Science in 1979 and was upgraded to a College of Arts, Science and Technology in June, 1980. It got approved as a federal polytechnic in 1993.
    The polytechnic has a main campus at Oko and there are two other campuses at Ufuma and Atani. The school has a vibrant social life too. There are 8 schools from which to choose a course of study from.

    10. Kaduna Polytechnic

    Also known as KADPOLY, this Polytechnic is located in Tudun Wanda LGA, Kaduna state. It was established in 1956. There are 5 colleges from which to choose a course of study. This includes the College of Business & Management Studies (CBMS), College of Environmental Studies (CES), College of Engineering (COE), College of Science and Technology (CST), and the College of Administrative Studies and Social Sciences (CASSS). It offers ND and HND undergraduate programs.

    Leave a Reply